Weekend Recap

I know, I know. I started this effing blog and then did not follow through with the updating. I had a major migraine that prevented me from doing so… but have no fear, I am back.

Sooo… my weekend.

Friday night, I headed over to the Izzy Gold New Headquarters Party. I get to 95 Morton around 9PM and was expecting it to be a little crazier than it was. BUT as the night went on, things definitely loosened up. Fast forward to engaging in unnamed activities with Liam McMullan (probably not what you are thinking,) and my friends and I putting on a legit shadow dancing show in front of everyone, and I think it’s pretty self explanatory. In the time I was there, however, I did not see any of the “guest appearances” that were scheduled to show – besides that snider kid and alex young. I left around 2:30 and there was no DJ Messkid in sight… which made me sad. But apparently he showed up there late night, which also made me sad. You can catch pics over at Guest of a Guest.

My friends, old and new, and I headed over to The Box – my home away from home. Unfortunately that dbag Gans is still at the door. Really – that guys has seen me every other weekend for the past two years and is still a major douche. Someone needs to deport his ass back to Albania. Anyways… the night ended with an impromptu pole dance competition in which I learned that men are actually better pole dancers than girls. Fun was had by all and I will leave it at that.

Saturday I tried my hardest to make it over to the Bowery Hotel for Alex Pall’s Bday Bash -but unfortunately my migraine was in a severe state and I could barely get out of bed. BUT I did happen to mosey on down to the end of my street to The Flying Cow, where I came across Stumblebum. A crazy, Jazz/ Blues/ Brassband that thrives on ambushing streets, bars, subways, younameit. This is what I encountered.

Saturday night in Brooklyn from alfred broadbent on Vimeo.

I was thankful I just happened to hear them from my apt and wandered downstairs to scope out the scene. There was a straight up party going on down there. I am talking about sweaty girls dancing on tables, people hanging out the windows, a guy randomly tossing pizza, a crowd of about 20 people just standing outside the place just wondering WTF was going on, drinking, dancing, and this band was just straight going to towwwwnnnn… singing on that bullhorn! I mean it was pretty ridiculous, everyone was having a really great time, and it was so, so random.

Welp, until next time friends….

Leave a comment